Disappointed Expectations

It’s very easy to find reviews of new films, music and books, but, and I don’t know if anyone agrees, I enjoy looking for good ones that I may have missed two years, or even ten years, ago. However, information on these can be hard to find and unless I just wander into a shop and pick out random films/books/cds I never know how to choose (especially as some turn out to be rubbish and a waste of money). Whether this fondness for things out-of-date is because of new ones being too much and I’m a poor student with no money, or whether it’s due to previously seeing/reading/hearing something that had such a big hype and being disappointed, I don’t know.

For instance, one of my friends recently got round to seeing ‘The Social Network’ (a little late I know), which I haven’t seen but want to when I get time, and he says that although it was worth seeing, he wouldn’t go out and buy it. This makes me wonder where all the hype came from, and if my friend would’ve enjoyed it more if he saw it without hearing all of the raving reviews, which probably boosted its image too much.

Also, I find I like the anticipation of picking up a book or film which I’ve never heard of or has been recommended, but isn’t so much in the public eye, and being allowed to make my own judgements without having dictated expectations or opinions thrust upon me.

Do you find hyped-up films often fall short? Do you agree that sometimes you enjoy the more unknown as it gives you freedom to form your own conclusions without external influence?

3 thoughts on “Disappointed Expectations

  1. Pingback: One Day by David Nicholls « mystudentstruggles

  2. Hey,
    I guess it’s my time now to comment on some of your posts. Thanks again for visiting my blog 🙂
    That’s the thing with hyped-up things in general. Of course some of them really rock but most of them are supposed to make your mouth water and in the end there’s the big nothing. It’s mostly the media that form an impression for you which turns into your expectations. This ain’t the way with unknown artists, film etc. which is why they often turn out to better than some famous, hyped-up flick.

    Best regards,
    Bino32

    • Agreed. Also, some trailers give out too much information. Or they put all the good, funny bits into it so when you go to see the film there’s nothing left to see that you haven’t seen before.

Thank you for your comment. I shall endeavour to visit and comment on your blog :D

