One Day by David Nicholls

I was going to post this yesterday but then realised the importance of the 15th of July to this book. So decoupage boxes was yesterday and this is today:

One Day was given to me by my best friend last November when I was in hospital. It follows the lives of two people by detailing where they are and what they’re doing on the 15th July 1988 and every year after that for twenty years. I was quite intrigued by this idea, I wonder what my life would look like from this perspective?

Anyway, although Marian Keys describes it as an “incredibly moving” story I was somewhat disappointed. I began reading with high expectations (perhaps that clouded my judgement) as I knew it had been made into a film, although it was only after reading it that I noticed the reviews generally weren’t positive. It begins rather simply with two new graduates messing around together one night and continues with the various successes and failures of their lives as they move forwards individually.

Involving a lost love letter along the way, Nicholls injects comedy into his writing. The main bulk of the book is entertaining and captivating but it is the end which lets it down. I found the events of the last couple of chapters annoyingly predictable which negated some of the emotive subject matter. In fact I would have enjoyed the book a lot more and even recommended it if I had forgotten to read the last part.

Nicholls does write an absorbing tale through an orginal format, so perhaps I am being too harsh as my disappointment did not appear until the end and thus colours my view. I don’t wish to reveal why the end let it down in case you wish to read it. I suppose it is personal annoyance and some others may enjoy the ending twist or may not see it coming, in which case Nicholls achieves a moving climax. Unfortunately, it isn’t for me and I’m in no hurry to watch the film.

11 thoughts on “One Day by David Nicholls

  1. I didn’t read book, saw movie maybe 1h and i found it boring. Usually book is better so i would love to read it. And again I’m gonna spend hundreds for books cos as always i can’t buy only one book – at least 5 hahahaha!

Thank you for your comment. I shall endeavour to visit and comment on your blog :D

