Felted Scarf

I made this scarf for a friends christmas present last November. I got into felting because my Mum started attending courses and so I got her to teach me how to felt as well. Now, I’m not as competent as she is and don’t have the confidence to make anything without her instruction but, I’m quite proud of this one 🙂

First, I laid out the wool and wetted it with soapy water before rubbing it to get it to felt together. Unfortunately, the wool didn’t want to felt on its own so we decided to add a black backing, hoping the colours would show up bright enough.

Using more warm, soapy water I spent ages rubbing until it was secure enough to roll. Everytime I do some felting I’m surprised at the amount of physical effort it takes but this had to be done quickly because I was using the dining room table and the family were getting hungry 😀

I was quite pleased with how the colour looked against the black, in fact I think it looks better than it would’ve done without the backing but it did mean it wasn’t as floaty as originally planned.

I almost didn’t want to give this away but giving something handmade as a present means more than just buying a mass-produced product 🙂

4 thoughts on “Felted Scarf

  1. The scarf looks georgeous. Felting – I had never heard of it prior to this post. I think it is a wonderful thing to do with your Mum. I used to sew with my Grandmother, made many happy memories. Thank you for teaching me something new, and bringing back old memories.

    🙂

    • Cheers, I’d never heard of it before my Mum discovered it during a different art/crafty course she was doing a few years ago. Doing little bits of felt for cards is quite easy and doesn’t take as long, people love recieving things like that 😀

Thank you for your comment. I shall endeavour to visit and comment on your blog :D

