The Liebster Blog Award

So surprised (and immensely grateful) to be nominated for the Liebster Award 😀 Thank  you, thank you, thank you to the audacious amateur blogger for nominating me.

THE RULES

  • Answer the questions your nominator posed to her/his nominees
  • Pass the award on to others
  • Ask five questions for one’s nominees to answer

Simple right? Answer questions, ask questions, nominate. The thing is this award actually requires thinking and at the moment I have no idea what questions to ask. Let’s just see where the wind blows us shall we? Great, on with the show. 😀

Answer Questions:

  • Where in the world to you feel most “at home” and why?

Feeling ‘at home’? Trickier than it sounds really. I currently live ‘at home’ with my parents and little brother but am I too old now to consider this ‘home, home’? Of course it’ll always be home in a sense but it doesn’t provide the same comforts as it did five years ago. The thing with being 19, on the cusp of being a grown-up, is that little bells start ringing as if to say “you need independence!” whereas, at the same time, you’re desperately clinging onto the mothers apron strings. I have yet to move into this years house at uni so am unable to say whether I feel ‘at home’ there, although I do wonder whether you can feel at home in a place you’re only going to spend 8-9 months.

  • If you could have lunch with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and what would you order?

This is quite a tricky one, I think it would have to be Jane Austen for several reasons: one; she wrote Pride and Prejudice and two; it would be fascinating to experience luncheon as it was during her time. A typical British afternoon tea perhaps? Cucumber sandwiches and scones. Is that what they ate then? Of course, I’m assuming I could be the one to travel back in time and that she wouldn’t join me in the 21st century 😀

  • A place you have traveled to that MOST surprised you.

Paris. I think it was because it didn’t yell ‘city’ at you. At least, it was nothing like London which seems cramped. Paris is truly beautiful, I hate cities – too many people – but I could see myself living in Paris for a little while though I would probably have enough and come home after a couple of years.

  • What villainous character do you most admire and why?

Severus Snape. Ok, so I’m a bit of a Harry Potter nut. Professor Snape, the potions master, is such a complex character when you start to think about it. His entire life revolves around love, and yet he seems to be the least likely man (apart from Voldy) to even know what love is. Maybe these books left such a great impression because I was quite young when they were coming out and I was reading them, in a way I grew up with them throughout the majority of my school career (especially if you count waiting for the films as well). Anyway, at first you dislike him and his attitude towards little 11-year-old Harry, then you HATE the bloke for killing off Dumbledore and finally you feel guilty for all of this as all becomes clear after his death. Also, Alan Rickman plays a spectacular Snape 🙂 Although, since he is effectively cleared of all charges in the end, is he really a villain?

  • Item on your “bucket list” that you would be MOST upset if you didn’t accomplish.

I don’t have a bucket list but I would love to go to Venice  one day 🙂 Anybody been?

Ask questions:

  1. What is your favourite book? Which character do you identify with most and why?
  2. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?
  3. Who is your hero/heroine?
  4. What would it take for you to make friends with an old enemy?
  5. What keeps you writing when that dreaded monster known as ‘writers block’ strikes?

Finally…

MY nominations:

11 thoughts on “The Liebster Blog Award

  1. Nice work on answering the questions! I kinda meant them to be trickier than the appear and I totally understand and have been through (and still going through) a place I truly feel at home, that’s why I asked it. I want to know the qualities that others found make a place “home”.

    Congrats again and thank you for continuing to pass this tradition along as well as grace us all with your insightful blog posts…and you’re 19?? amazing. You’re heaps ahead of so many people twice your age.

  2. (one teeny tiny last thing. in you preface: So surprised (and immensely grateful) to be nominated for the Liebster Award 😀 Thank you, thank you, thank you to the audacious amateur blogger for nominating me….I think you may have an extra http or something in the hyperlink to my blog… shows up as an error, just fyi)

Thank you for your comment. I shall endeavour to visit and comment on your blog :D

