Views on Floating Homes

Hi again 😀 I’m sorry it’s been so long since my last post but I’m rather busy with my degree atm. Hopefully I will get back into blogging again – especially when I get my new laptop and don’t have to wait half an hour for the thing to wake up and load.

Anyway, currently I’m studying an Environmental module as part of my degree and for this next assessment I have to choose my own extension project, related to the issue of flooding. I have chosen to assess opinions on floating homes. I hope you will read the information below and answer the related poll.

Floating homes such as canal boats have been used both in the UK and other countries for many years. However, over recent years a new type of floating home has been developed and has proved popular in countries such as Holland and Canada. The term ‘floating’ is ambiguous as unlike house boats these homes rest on land and only rise on the water during floods. This prevents damage to homes, businesses and livelihoods. The first floating home in Britain was given planning permission in 2012; it rests on the River Thames in Buckinghamshire and rises at the same level as the water around it.

The technology used in Canada differs from the Dutch method; it is the Dutch technology of ‘smart levee’ that the UK is currently interested in. It works by putting sensors in flood embankments which constantly monitor the condition of the levee and sends a warning when it weakens.

Floating Homes Another, way of escaping flood damage has been utilised for many centuries in places such as Indonesia and Thailand where houses are built on stilts so that water merely passes underneath leaving homes high and dry. This is a much simpler way of avoiding flood damage but one would have to guess the possible height flood water would reach and this could alter over the years, especially with the issue of climate change.

stilt house
Further information is available at these sites:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-20502736

http://www.ecofloatinghomes.com/floating_homes.html

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2240293/Could-amphibious-homes-prove-solution-floods-Floating-houses-range-ideas-touted-combat-increasingly-frequent-inundations.html

Thank you for reading this far and I hope you will help me by participating in the attached poll. Multiple selection is available and please leave any other comments if you wish. 

2 thoughts on “Views on Floating Homes

Thank you for your comment. I shall endeavour to visit and comment on your blog :D

